Political Composition

The Eastern Cape Provincial Legislature is a people’s assembly that upholds democracy and transparency and has the responsibility of:
  • discussing Bills (draft laws) that are introduced in the House by the Members of the Executive Council (MECs)
  • writing new laws
  • changing any laws that are no longer needed
  • discussing national laws that affect the province
  • debating on matters of public importance
  • approving the budget presented to the Legislature by the provincial Government
  • acting as watchdogs on the work of Government, and checking that public money is spent wisely




The national and provincial elections were held on 8 May 2019. The results of the election led to seven political parties winning seats in the Eastern Cape Provincial Legislature. The ANC won 44 seats and becomes the majority party. The DA with its 10 seats is the official opposition. The EFF has 5 seats, the UDM has 2 seats and the ATM and the FF+ each have one seat. 






The national and provincial election held on 7 May 2014 ushered in the 5th democratic Parliament and Provincial Legislatures. The outcome of the elections saw 6 political parties win seats in the Legislature: 45 seats to the ANC, 10 to the DA, 4 to the UDM, 2 to the EFF, 1 to the AIC and 1 to COPE.


Fifth Term






FOURTH LEGISLATURE: 6 May 2009 to 2013



group pic


The Legislature consists of 63 MPLs. The ANC is the majority party in the Legislature as it holds 44 seats. COPE is the Official Opposition as it has 9 seats. This is followed by the DA with 6 seats, the UDM with 3 seats and the AIC with 1 seat.

Each party holds a caucus meeting at least once a week to discuss how they are going to deal with issues before the Legislature.





mpls gropu

The Legislature consisted of 63 MPLs. The ANC was the majority party in the Legislature as it holds 53 seats. The DA was the Official Opposition as it had 5 seats. This was followed by the UDM with 4 seats and the APC with 1 seat.