Proportional Representation

Democracy is one of the ways of governing a country. It is based on the idea that everyone in a country should have a say about how the country is run. However, because it is not possible for everyone to be in Parliament, people choose other people to represent them in Parliament and the Provincial Legislatures and to make decisions on their behalf. The word "Parliament" comes from the word "to speak". It is where the voices of all the people of the country are heard through their elected representatives. Your voice and the voices of other citizens of this country needs to be heard. Every voice is important.

Members of the Provincial Legislature (MPLs) are elected through a system called proportional representation. This means that, before an election, each party draws up a list of candidates in order of preference. People on the list become Members of the Legislature in proportion to the number of votes the party wins in the election. For example, if the party wins half the votes, it will hold half the seats in the Legislature. Therefore MPLs are directly accountable to the public as public representatives. MPLs have a duty to protect the rights and interests of the public.


Sixth Legislature: 

ANC 44 seats

DA 10 seats

EFF 5 seats

UDM 2 seats

ATM 1 seat

VF+ 1 seat 


Fifth Legislature:

ANC 45 seats

DA 10 seats

UDM 4 seats

EFF 2 seats

AIC 1 seat

COPE 1 seat


Fourth Legislature: 

ANC  44 seats

COPE  9 seats

DA       6 seats

UDM    3 seats

AIC     1 seat 


Third Legislature: 

ANC  53 seats

DA      5 seats

UDM   4 seats 

APC    1 seat